Site icon KahawaTungu

Big Ted, Dennis Waweru Among Newly Appointed Envoys

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed 24 new ambassadors and High Commissioners as Heads of Missions of Kenya abroad.

The head of state has also appointed seven ambassadors who will serve as Deputy Heads of Missions and four officials to the post of Consul-General.

Further, Uhuru the president named an Ambassador and Special Envoy for the Maritime and Blue Economy.

He also promoted six senior Foreign Service Officers to the rank of Ambassadors at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs Headquarters.

Among those appointed is former ICT Permanent Secretary Bitange Ndemo who will be the Ambassador of the Kingdom of Belgium and the National Assembly Clerk Michael Sialai who is now the High Commissioner of the Republic of Namibia.

Nyeri Deputy Governor Dr Caroline Karugu has been appointed as Kenyan Ambassador to Denmark.

Principal Secretary State Department for Shipping and Maritime Nancy Karigithu was appointed Ambassador and Special Envoy for Maritime and Blue Economy.

Tomas Kwako Omolo alias Big Ted was appointed Consul-General to head the Kenya Consulate at Los Angeles, United States of America.

Former Dagoretti South MP Dennis Waweru will serve as a Consul General in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Others include Ambassador Diana Kiambuthi (Rwanda), Ambassador Michael Oyugi (Spain) Maj Gen ( Rtd ) Thomas Chepkuto (Somalia), Ambassador Isaac Njenga (Tanzania) Leonard Boiyo (Turkey), and Maj Gen (Rtd) George Owinow (Uganda).

The appointees will be vetted and approved by members of parliament.

Email your news TIPS to or WhatsApp +254707482874. You can also find us on Telegram through

Exit mobile version