in ,

Blow To ODM As David Ochieng, Julius Mawathe Win By Elections



David Ochieng from the Movement of Democracy and Growth party (MDG) has been declared the winner of the Ugenya By-election trumping ODM Chris Karan.

Ochieng garnered 18,730 over Karan’s  14,507  to clinch the seat as the member of parliament for Ugenya constituency.

Number of registered voters stood at 57,603 while total votes cast were 33,342 and rejected ones 534.

In Embakasi South, ODM candidate Irshad Sumra conceded defeat after Julius Mawathe of the Wiper Democratic party. He said that he lost because Mawathe had planned well for the By election.

Mawathe garnered 21,628 votes, Irshad Sumra came in second with 7,988.

Sumra  said that his party leader congratulated him for his performance and said that NASA had not lost but had emerged first and second in the race.

My party leader also called and congratulated me for my input in the by-elections. However, Nasa hasn’t lost because we have been both first and second in the contest. I also want to convey my sincere appreciation to my party leader Odinga for having faith in me and giving me the mantle in the contest,” Sumra stated.

ODM party secretary general Edwin Sifuna took to twitter to also accept defeat from the two By elections.

Email your news TIPS to or WhatsApp +254707482874. You can also find us on Telegram through



Written by Merxcine Cush

You got a story that needs to be covered? Send it via Email

Leave a Reply

Exit mobile version