Site icon KahawaTungu

Google Translate Adds Oromo Spoken in Kenya, 23 Other Languages to its Database

Google Translate has added 24 more languages to its database, bringing the total number of languages it can interpret to 133. Among those included are languages indigenous to Africa, India and the Americas spoken by 300 million people.

Languages from Ghana, Togo, Sierra Leone, Mali, South Africa, Eritrea, South Sudan, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Namibia, Uganda, and Zimbabwe are among the new additions to the list.

“For years, Google Translate has helped break down language barriers and connect communities all over the world,” the tech-giant said.

Read: Google Will Now Allow Users to Strike Off Sensitive Information from Search Engine Results

The new languages, according to Google, are the first to employ Zero-Shot Machine Translation, which involves a machine learning model that only sees monolingual text and learns to translate into another language without ever seeing an example.

Google however acknowledged that the technology isn’t flawless.

“This is also a technical milestone for Google Translate,” the US-based company said.

Read also: All You Need To Know About Rihanna’s Fenty Beauty Shop Opening In Kenya In May

Email your news TIPS to or WhatsApp +254707482874. You can also find us on Telegram through

Exit mobile version